Vegan Pizza Party Dinner Recipe

I’ve been in the mood for pizza lately.  Even though in the past I would buy my whole grain vegan pizza from Whole Foods it still is not the healthiest thing to eat, and they slowly raise the price by $1 every few months it seems.

After this morning’s brunch debacle I decided to include my older son in the process a bit more.  I asked if he would like to make a homemade pizza, and he agreed. I got the following ingredients together

IMG_0343Whole Wheat Vegan Crust 

  • yeast packet
  • 2 1/4 cp whole wheat flour (I buy it from Trader Joes)
  • 2 Tbs Agave (I picked it up at TJMaxx oddly)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil (I also use TJs)
  • 1 cup warm water (read yeast packet for how warm)

I brought the water to parboil on the stove, dumped the yeast into a mixing bowl along with the olive oil, agave, salt and buy that time hot water.  I mixed them all up until frothy.  Then I added 1 cup of flour at a time, mixing, and finally finished with the 1/4 cup, kneading the dough on my counter.  I covered the dough with the bowl for 15 minutes.  Then, flouring my surfaces I rolled my ball of dough out into a largish circle. Sadly I don’t own a pizza tray so I had to use a cookie pan – my pizza was a bit more rectangular.

Toppings

  1. Rinaldi Marinara
  2. Spinach
  3. Orange Bell Peppers
  4. Fresh Oregano
  5. Daiya Shredded Mozzarella
  6. Daiya Havarti (for my half I like a little kick).

IMG_0341 I assembled the pizza with sauce first, then the peppers, then the spinach and oregano and finished with cheese to weight down the spinach. Popped this in the oven at 425 for 18 minutes until brown (your oven may differ use a spatula to check the bottom side).

The overall opinion was SUCCESS! My sons prefer no sauce so you can see a photo of their pizza as well there in the oven. The total cost for 2 pizzas for a family of 6 was roughly $5 in overall ingredients used.

Having your children in the kitchen with you is a key ingredient in getting them to eat new things.  The more they help prepare, the more they are willing to try.  Pizza is a great way to get children to try new vegetables and sauces.  You can make an adult and a kid pizza at the same time with little extra effort or cost. Help them get the crust ready, let them roll it out and then provide some chopped topping choices for them to sprinkle on their own pizza.  I even allow my children to help me chop vegetables.  My 11 year old I allow to chop on his own while supervised and my 4 year old I allow to help by holding the knife with me when I cut.

Leave a Reply

