Mango Coconut Tofu with Cilantro Chutney Vegan Recipe Share

I try not to eat out too much but there is a wonderful Indian restaurant in our town OMango that does fast, fresh and light Indian fare.  I am not a big fan of spicy or hot food, nor do I like oily or fried and OMango delivers! The prices are reasonable too, especially when they are running specials, but it is still eating out and unfortunately adds to the waistline while depleting the wallet lining.

DSC03857 Lightbulb moment! I will make my own Indian Cuisine at home.  Fail moment three weeks ago when I try to make my own dosa recipe and ruin a frying pan with some sort of globby mess. But I will not be stopped from creating cuisine worthy of my pallet in my own home.

I attempted again and wound up with what you see on page left.  This was my first homemade dosa attempt that worked (the texture was a little off), with homemade mango chutney and curried vegetables.

Fast forward and after a two time 3000 mile trip to Portland and back last week I gained 5 lbs.  It could be from sitting and sleeping in a car with three kids for 32 hours, it could be all of the delicious gluten free vegan food to be found in Portland (think mecca of munchies!) who can say, but I need to reign in the calories which means portion control.

Now, to some purveyors of fine Indian food what I am about to write next might be the epitome of faux pas akin to the mom who grabs a box of Duncan Hines to make homemade brownies for the bake sale, but yes I bought a Dosai mix made by the company Swad at my favorite grocery store, Caputo’s. And yes, it worked like gang busters! Finally a decent dosa I could photograph and replicate.

At first I was put off that the measurements for mixing were given in milliliters but then I realized my measuring cup has mLs marked off so 350 mLs of water later, and 15 minutes after mixing, my bowl was full of a fluffy bubbly kind of pancake batter. The first two attempts definitely failed big time, the suggestion of using a teaspoon of edible oil in the pan was not helpful.  I decided to treat these like pancakes and went for the Earth Balance spread, warmed the skillet, melted the “butter” and then ladled and spread 75 mL of batter onto the skillet (or approx 5 tbsp full). Success, even success times two!

While I wrestled with the carbohydrate portion of the meal the protein and the condiment were simple to make so I share below my personal recipes for Mango Coconut Tofu and Cilantro Chutney, enjoy!

Mango Coconut Tofu

  1. Diced tofu (I used one serving size)
  2. Diced Red pepper (I used 1/2)
  3. Diced tomato (I used 1 vine ripe small)
  4. 1 tsp cumin
  5. salt and pepper to taste
  6. 1 tsp oil (I used olive oil infused with basil)
  7. 2 mangoes (I used Manila)
  8. 1 can coconut milk (I used low fat)
  9. 2 tsp ajwain seedsDSC03893
  10. 2 tsp amchur powder
  11. 1/4 cp agave

Start by stir frying ingredients 1-6 together in a warm skillet (oil goes in first, then tofu, then veggies)

In a blender place ingredients 7-11. Peel and chop mangoes (the riper the better and you can probably omit the agave then) place them in a blender, add ingredients and blend until creamy.  Pour desired amount of sauce over the tofu mix and cook 5-10 minutes.

Cilantro Chutney

  1. Fresh Cilantro (I used roughly 2 bundles, cut the stems off)
  2. 1/4 cp apple cider vinegar
  3. 1/2 cp white wine vinegar
  4. 1/4 cp agave
  5. 1 tsp cumin

Simply blend all ingredients together until smooth or slightly chunky if you prefer.

Leave a Reply

