How to Maintain Health with FitBit and Home Made Recipes

It’ true, I still have 25 pounds hanging around from my third baby who is now 15 months old.  In the past I used systems such as the BodyBugg but found them to irritate my skin, leaving rashy burn marks. It was also cumbersome and I didn’t care to wear it as a badge of weight loss honor like some might.

Enter the FitBit, a less expensive but in my mind superior product.  First of all it is only $99 compared to the $399 the BodyBugg cost at the time I purchased.  It does not require skin contact, you can wear it on a clip almost anywhere, and it even has a sleep tracking feature (it comes with a sleep sleeve). There is no extended purchasing of programs required either.  You get the online software indefinitely and it does just what the others do – tracks activities (via upload or manual enter), tracks calories (via manual upload of nutritional info or browse their database), it gives insight into sleep patterns and even connects with other wireless devices (like my scale) to sync data in one handy location.  All this and there is a smartphone app so you never have to be far from your data.  You can even challenge friends on FitBit or other apps that use FitBit such as Earndit.

imageSo what makes it even more superior? The customer service.  I had a recent problem with my FitBit One and contacted customer support, within hours someone contacted me via email and handled correcting my issues – well beyond my expectations.  FitBit now has several options available for tracking your health progress including the FitBit Flex which is a wristband.

The only component missing from their software is a recipe builder, but not to worry, I found one online http://caloriecount.about.com/cc/recipe_analysis.php

I entered the information for my Vegan Blueberry Muffin Mix and was able to get a calorie count and breakdown.

You can get a full rating of your recipe including the Good and Bad Points.  My muffin recipe yielded 14 muffins, but you can adjust the serving size too to know how much you are eating with each bite!

Why did I decide today was the day for Blueberry Muffins? I hate drinking plain water and flavored waters are too expensive so I have started to make my own.

Yesterday I boiled a pot of water with 1/2 cup of Trader Joe’s dried blueberries.  Once cooled I strained the water and put it in the fridge, but I hated to waste the blueberries so I decided to make muffins.

Emily’s Vegan Blueberry Muffin Recipe

  • 2 cups Flour
  • 1/2 cup cane turbinado sugar
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 cup melted Earth Balance
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2/4 cup soymilk
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries

All of these ingredients were purchased at Trader Joe’s, it is one of my most favorite grocery spots and quite inexpensive. I plopped all ingredients into my mixer except the blueberries, mixed on low then folded the blueberries into the mix.  I lightly greased muffin tins with Earth Balance because I was out of cupcake liners. Baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes (times may vary) until golden brown.

I do like to sprinkle a little sugar on the muffins before baking – the crusty sugar makes a muffin worth eating – otherwise I’d have a cupcake!

I did not receive any compensation for this post and am in no way affiliated with the companies mentioned at the time of this post. All opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “How to Maintain Health with FitBit and Home Made Recipes

  1. Did you try HappyForks’s Analyzer? happyforks.com/analyzer
    It’s much more detailed and reliable in my opinion. I stopped using Calorie Count for this reason.

Leave a Reply

