Gluten Free Vegan Lemon Basil Scone Recipe and @SwirlzCupcakes Back Up Plan

I have always wondered what makes a cupcake not a muffin and what makes a muffin sound healthier than a cupcake.  Are muffins just cupcakes without frosting? When I try to get all crunchy mama and make healthy cupcakes I wind up with what could be aptly described as muffins with frosting, and that isn’t a good thing.

So if muffins can be dense or light why not push the envelope of muffin making with deliciously light flavor combinations, or around my house happy mistakes.  I wish there were some sort of Baking Wars home game version so I could challenge myself to use crazy mismatched ingredients I would never dare dream to combine in my mixer. Instead, I have my moments of inspiration when I merely am out of ingredients and too lazy to go get some at the store.

My goal was to make some cupcakes but I was out of Earth Balance vegan sticks so I had to make due with the Basil Olive Oil in the house please also not my goal was to make cupcakes but the batter came out more dry, like scone dough so I rolled with it- literally and rolled scones out to cut. I think the problem was due to converting my recipes to gluten free flours.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Gluten Free Flour (I Used TJ’s premixed bag)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast / 4 Tbsp Water    
  • 1 tsp Xantham Gum (Bob’s Red Mill Bag costs $12 but you use very little per recipe and it does help Gluten Free Baking)
  • 1/4 cp Basil Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cp Water
  • 1/4 cp Agave
  • 1 tsp lemon peel powder (from Penzey’s)

I simple combined all dry ingredients and then the wet ones folded into the dry ones. I rolled into a log shape, then cut on angles to make triangular scones.  Baked on an ungreased (airbake) cookie sheet at 350 until golden brown.Izzy Age 1

I wish I had photos to share of these, they looked and smelled delicious.  Their taste really was not displeasing, it was savory and I prefer sweet. For some reason when I attempt gluten free scones I get the consistency correct, but my regular scones come out terrible.

Truth be told when we want a delicious vegan cupcake that I don’t have to bake we hit up the grocery store and pick up Swirlz cupcakes. While they do not do cheap cupcakes, they do create delicious cupcakes.  At $4 per mini cake creation I definitely take my time to savor each morsel, it slows down my munching and increases my awareness of flavor.  My two favorite vegan flavors they create are Peanut Butter Chocolate and Vanilla Vanilla.  Their Red Velvet leaves a great deal to be desired, starting with what exactly makes it red velvet? It is brown and tastes less bold than their Double Chocolate.  They also make a Vanilla on Chocolate cupcake. They are sold frozen and my family has been known to chow down on them in this state. It can definitely be less messy to allow children to eat frozen cupcakes, but for me they are also delectable defrosted in the fridge overnight.  Of all the vegan cupcakes on the market, gluten free and regular, Swirlz really has improved their product and I find it to be on

e of the best. The frosting isn’t too sweet and there is just the right amount.  Their cakes are moist and a little dense but still have some spring to them.  Vanilla vegan cake, especially gluten free, is very hard to prepare well but they nail it. Izzy loves their Vanilla Vanilla cupcakes – she undertakes the eating of them very seriously – just look at that face when I asked her to share with me.

Leave a Reply

