Lose 5 lbs Overnight on the Vegan Gluten Free Cupcake Diet

Yeah, that’s how crazy people on the Paleo, Carb-Free, Blood Type diets sound to me but you want to know something, I lost 5 lbs over the course of one night and the only difference in my meal planning was I ate two and a half gluten free vegan cupcakes from The Flying Cupcake in Indianapolis.

How the heck does something like that happen? I have my theories.  A new study released showed that people will overeat “healthy” foods consuming more calories.  I know cupcakes are loaded with calories so I adjust the rest of my meals accordingly.  This could be one answer. Let me say that I have been “eating clean” and a vegan diet well before they were hashtags and trends to tweet about, for 25 years and counting so maybe this isn’t the correct answer.

My second guess is that as a recovering eating disorder patient I have a tendency to over estimate calories.  Any good EDP will bash into your head the idea that too few calories puts the body into starvation and fat storage mode so possibly eating a few extra calories triggered my body into releasing some fat? Maybe.

My third guess is a mix of the two.  I eat a decent amount but as I recently learned during a trip to my doctor – there is no real rule of thumb for how many calories a woman who; regular exercises and almost exclusively breastfeeds a four and one year, while sporadically pumping milk for others should eat.  My doctor told me that my BMI is 27 but if I took of 10 lbs of weight for milk and extra breast tissue from nursing I would be at 24 and she was happy with that.  I quote, “Emily, we are real women – with boobs and butts – that’s healthy. I’m fine with your BMI and you should be too.” I must say that was a very yogic idea indeed.  Not looking for pleasure down outside avenues (more on that later).

Where did I get my cupcakes from? The Raw location of The Flying Cupcake which has a separate gluten free vegan case full of cupcakes regular and jumbo size.  A dozen and a juice box set us back $54.50 (thanks @cxi for the treat!) and I have to be honest – they were hit or miss.  A few were tasty and texture wise palatable but several were way too crumbly. Here is what we ordered:IMG_3544[1]

Bunny’s Favorite Carrot Cake – a carrot cake cupcake.  Now you have to do vegan carrot cake well for me to applaud because I consider myself a carrot cake aficionado and I know who makes the best. The flavor was spot on, and the frosting was good but the cake consistency was too moist – think underbaked, pudding like. When trying to use a fork it would mush down and not spring up, becoming a dense ball of dough.

IMG_3546[1] Happy Birthday To Me Chocolate – chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.  There was way too much frosting, the edges of the cake were hard (either overcooked or stale) and the cake itself was sooooo dry. Think Mojave dessert. It crumbled to pieces and the frosting came off in a lump, for both of these that we purchased.  I also could have done without the cheesy plastic flower on top – never paint the peacock.

The Cosby –  a chocolate pudding pop cupcake as it was described on the menu suffered the same cake fate as the chocolate based cupcake above.  The frosting however was quite thick and like a mousse. In fact I make a tofu mousse pie that is very similar – to put it atop a cake was a bit overwhelming- a better name would be death by chocolate. I had one bite and pawned the rest of on the hubs.IMG_3540[1]

Strawberry Shortcake –  was highly recommended by the VERY friendly counter help as her favorite.  And while it was tasty, the cake was almost non existent.  A vanilla cake with overly sweet strawberry sauce in the center and piped filling.  The center became a pile of mush and the cupcake itself was almost hollow.  The frosting was crispy – like almost hardened. When I tried to separate the cupcake from its paper, the whole cupcake fell apart and had to be eaten with a spoon. The cake was neither moist or dry – if you have ever experienced this state of large crumbleness it is most easily described as oily but crumbly.

Ebony and Ivory –  A chocolate cake topped with rich vanilla “dream-cheese” frosting did not go over well with anyone.  The kids were used to similar cupcakes from other bakeries and ate half a bit of this one.  The frosting was not overly sweet may have been the problem and again the chocolate cake was gritty and dry. My husband wound up sharing the kids cake with me and eating the second one later himself on the car ride home.

IMG_3547[1] Bananas Foster –  I ate this one this afternoon and they nailed the taste spot on.  I love anything bananas honestly. Banana bread with a caramel and brown sugar Penuche frosting.  Again though the cupcake was too moist or dense? you can see that the cake is overwhelmed by too much frosting and after taking a forkful the cake does not spring back.  I left half of the frosting on my plate.

Lemon Blue Berry Tutti Frutti – lemon zest buttercream, the cake again was similar in crumble to the shortcake and there was a little too much frosting which made my mouth feel pasty with sugar, but the taste was nice  – a little sweet and a little tart.  I munched on it right before Zumba class this morning.

Orange You Glad I Said Pineapple – pineapple right side up cake with crushed pineapple and orange zest icing.  Again, a little too thick on the icing, it over powered the cake which was not as crumbly but the paper was not full.  The ratio seemed to be half cake half frosting.  I prefer 80% cake 20% frosting.

Chocolate Covered Strawberry –   My son wanted to share so I took a bite then went to cut him a piece, he tried to pick it up and it fell apart in a chunk and the frosting came off in a lump from both halves.  He was not a happy kid about it.  The frosting was mousse like thick, and the cake a little gritty and very dry. He didn’t stop yelling at me about how I ruined the last cupcake. Oh well.

IMG_3550[1] IMG_3551[1]

I would categorize my overall experience as good.  Vegan cupcakes are hard to get perfect and gluten free cupcakes are a real challenge.  Gluten Free Vegan cupcakes then by simple algebra are impossibly difficult to make perfectly. As I understand it too, the bakery just opened this Gluten Free location in April 2013 so they still have time to grow their gluten free knowledge.  The counter girl was amazed when I told her about another variety we buy frozen stating, “we were told you can’t freeze gluten free products. I’ll have to look into that.”

So maybe the cupcake diet isn’t a great idea – I don’t think any diet plans are – and add to that shake and meal replacement plans. Life is meant to be lived and enjoyed.  Savor every moment. Live, love and enjoy the food you are eating

Leave a Reply

