Are you Looking to Dine Vegan Farm to Table in Chicago Burbs?

VeganOatmealandHash On our way home from one of our many museum outings I started scanning the area on my smartphone for vegan restaurants.  I was shocked to find one of off Harlem Ave in Palos Heights, IL called the Harvest Room Restaurant.  It is a farm to table run business that sources the majority of its ingredients from local producers.  They offer a wine list, which I wasn’t interested in, and a tea list with an in house tea-ologist who blends herbs and teas to create cup or pot fulls of elixirs and tea concoctions.

They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, all with vegan, vegetarian and gluten free options.  Although our first visit here ended with a mix up in the vegan meal, the staff and management were quick to rectify the problems and make amends (something you don’t often find these days when dining out).  With such great food and service we decided to give it another shot.

I had the vegan gluten free tomato soup – it was delicious, not too heavy and perfectly seasoned, nice and mild with the freshness of the tomatoes able to shine through.  I also have the Warm Eggplant Parcel, the Spaghetti Squash and the Tofu Torque over Quinoa.  Of the three my absolute favorite was the Spaghetti Squash in a mint olive oil with mushrooms, snow peas and petite onions (I skipped eating these because I wanted to be able to enjoy the aromatic garlic sautéed and my stomach can’t handle garlic alone). My husband had a burger (blah, I’m not writing about his carnivore experience – but it did look goodEggplantParcel and he did smile).

We both split the Sorbet Trio, green apple, blackberry and fruta de bosco.  OMG! That is all I can say.  The sorbet was light and airy, fruity but not cloyingly sugary which I can’t stand.  It tasted like you were eating whipped frozen fruit.  Served on a long tray with 2 small scoops per flavor it was great for sharing.  Of course hubby had to also have the Chocolate Lava Cake – it did look non-veganly delicious and was covered in berries to offset the chocolate.

Our first visit I had their oatmeal, home fries and the Eggplant Parcel Salad. My kids got organic wheat pasta and my husband had a biscuits and seitan gravy breakfast.  Both times we were pleased with our meals and the service was wonderful. Our first visit was a Sunday at 2pm, still in time for breakfast and it was quiet. Our second visit was a Friday night 8:30 pm and they were hopping! Even busy our water glasses never remained empty and we were asked several times if we would like more pretzel bread.

TwoSistersBrews I highly recommend you try this hidden gem of a restaurant

7164 West 127th Street
Palos Heights, Illinois 60463

Leave a Reply

