Fend Off the Summer Flu and alternaVites – CONTEST ENDED

imageNot familiar with the Summer flu or Summer colds? No-one wants to think about being sick when it is sunny out so we seldom hear about the Summer flu and colds that go around.  With all of the extra time in the sun and raised vitamin D production from sun exposure most of us do stay a bit healthier during the sun season. Ice cream cones, hot dogs and other fun sun foods don’t exactly provide the greatest vitamin content and when you add in Summer travel you may be forgetting about the folic acid or cut backing on the vitamin C.

Enter alternaVites, the on the go vitamin powder packet great for those who travel, who hate popping pills and everyone in between.

With the flu in high gear and colds spreading through offices and class rooms, many people are looking for natural ways to help boost their immunity.  alternaVites are vitamins that melt on your tongue – no water needed!  They are filled with the nutrients necessary to keep immune systems strong – Vitamin C, Vitamin D, and 23 essential vitamins in a flavored crystal powder. alternaVites provides all of the benefits of a multivitamin without the pill.

Travel friendly, they can be eaten on its own or sprinkled into yogurt, puddings or smoothies. Using a proprietary blend of ingredients, alternaVites are free of sugar, aspartame or high fructose syrup, artificial flavors and preservatives.  It has also been carefully formulated with ingredients that do not contain the major food allergens. For more information you can visit http://www.alternavites.com/

I received a few packets of the alternaVites Kids to review and instantly decided to share them with my pack of pint sized germ carriers. These kids are constantly putting everything in their mouths so I assumed that Raspberry Cotton Candy vitamins would be a sure thing. Not so. My older son who can swallow pills gave a little a try and spit it out sighting it was too bitter. My younger son who only takes his anti-epilepsy medication when hidden in a cookie wasn’t too fond of the taste, complained it was not in fact cotton candy, but did not actually feign illness.  I personally tried a little and was not a big fan.  I can’t take vitamins on an empty stomach or I become ill. I’m not a fan of the fake tastes used to cover the chalky bitterness of vitamins and that goes for any brand, any style.  I much prefer to swallow and not taste my vitamins.

Since we are vegans I did not try hiding this in yogurt but I bet it would work well or even better in a berry smoothie. I can definitely vouch for the value of a product such as this.  It is impossible to explain to a child why they have to take medicine, even more difficult to actually convince them to swallow a pill.  A convenient powder can make vitamins a lot easier.

You can purchase these directly from the manufacturer’s site in Strawberry Bubble Gum or Raspberry Cotton Candy for $15.95 for 30 packets.

alternaVites Kids® contains 17 essential vitamins and minerals specially formulated for children ages 4 and up.   Designed with both you and your children in mind, alternaVites Kids is remarkable not only for what it does contain, but also for what it doesn’t.

alternaVites Kids:

  • Melts in your mouth
  • Comes in 2 awesome flavors – strawberry bubblegum & raspberry cotton candy
  • One packet per day
  • Has 0 grams of sugar
  • Free of aspartame and high fructose corn syrup
  • Contains no artificial sweeteners, colors, flavors or preservatives
  • Has no animal products or by-products
  • Does not contain egg, milk, peanut, tree nuts, wheat, soy, fish or shellfish*
  • Certified kosher pareve

I was contacted to review this product, I received no compensation for this post or review and all opinions expressed are my own given freely.

You can win alternaVites and aternaVites Kids sample. It’s soooooo simple to win.

Do you love the Summer sun?? Leave a comment below with your favorite summer activity and I will pick on lucky winner at random from all comments on Friday April 12. Enter as many times as you like!

Thank You for all of your comments about great summer things to do from hanging in the hammock to getting around with the grandkids.  You can keep sharing your summer fun but our random contest winner was Jane!

8 thoughts on “Fend Off the Summer Flu and alternaVites – CONTEST ENDED

  1. My favorite summer activity is eating outside!! I love to set up a table out back and enjoy the family with a cookout and relaxing on the deck after dinner-it is a perfect summer day!!

  2. My favorite Summer activity is doing anything with my Grandkids!!! We don’t get to see them very often, so we enjoy just being w/them & playing/doing whatever makes them happy!!!((1955nursehjc4me(at)myway(dot)com))

  3. Just discovered your blog – I’m a new follower!!! I also love to play w/my wonderful Siberian Husky outside, especially in the Spring & early Summer before it gets too hot for her!!!((1955nursehjc4me(at)myway(dot)com)) Thanks for the chance, great giveaway!

Leave a comment